Jump to content



Photo

is300 swap


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 29 June 2008 - 10:16 AM

How much would it cost to put a 2jzgte engine into an is300?

thankss

and sorry i am a noob here

#2 trunkflapper

trunkflapper

    See my taillights?

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,238 posts
  • Vehicle:Corvette, Lexus, Truck, cbr600RR
  • Time Online: 5h 54m 27s

Posted 29 June 2008 - 12:08 PM

auto?
VIK-TEK - stay in the streets (or ripped apart and tore down at the shop)
Home of the REAL street cars (single walbro Honda world record holder)

THE REAL S.B.K.

QUOTE (IT @ Feb 22 2011, 08:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ive seen old black people driving these. this is me relating.


QUOTE (El Jefe @ Feb 22 2011, 08:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Where did you think young black people got their bad taste from?
 

#3 Mr2civic817

Mr2civic817

    MIA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,999 posts
  • Vehicle:2004 Nissan Pathfinder
  • Time Online: 34m 38s

Posted 29 June 2008 - 02:45 PM

Have you looked at the JDM Altezza motor???

Its a Beams Red top 3S-GE 2.0 motor with 6 speed tranny.

2JZ i think has s ome fab work you would have to do= Mucho$$$$$$$

#4 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 29 June 2008 - 04:06 PM

yeaa its an auto

soo swapping it would cost alot of money?

#5 Megaseth

Megaseth

    di addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,135 posts
  • Location:Arlington
  • Vehicle:2002 Nissan Pathfinder l 2006 Raleigh Passage 5.0 l 2006 Specialized Transition
  • :

Posted 29 June 2008 - 04:51 PM

um, correct me if im wrong...but isnt the IS300 powered by a 2JZ already?....why would it be MUCHO$$$$ if it already has the motor in there. should just drop in, i think the transmission would be your only major problem, other than the plumbing for the intercooler. i think the IS300 manual tranny is different than the supra manual tranny...unless you're keeping it auto.

#6 Scholar

Scholar

    di ROMO BABY JESUS SANTA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 302,960 posts
  • Time Online: 19h 33m 7s

Posted 29 June 2008 - 04:52 PM

QUOTE (Megaseth @ Jun 29 2008, 05:51 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
um, correct me if im wrong...but isnt the IS300 powered by a 2JZ already?....why would it be MUCHO$$$$ if it already has the motor in there. should just drop in, i think the transmission would be your only major problem, other than the plumbing for the intercooler. i think the IS300 manual tranny is different than the supra manual tranny...unless you're keeping it auto.

2JZ-GE and 2JZ-GTE is not a direct swap by any means.

#7 trunkflapper

trunkflapper

    See my taillights?

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,238 posts
  • Vehicle:Corvette, Lexus, Truck, cbr600RR
  • Time Online: 5h 54m 27s

Posted 29 June 2008 - 05:51 PM

QUOTE (Mr2civic817 @ Jun 29 2008, 02:45 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Have you looked at the JDM Altezza motor???

Its a Beams Red top 3S-GE 2.0 motor with 6 speed tranny.

2JZ i think has s ome fab work you would have to do= Mucho$$$$$$$


Mr2 guys are just way too proud..... That would def not be the best option....

QUOTE (Chobro @ Jun 29 2008, 04:52 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
2JZ-GE and 2JZ-GTE is not a direct swap by any means.


This is also bad information. I have done 2 in SC's and these swaps are not "direct swaps" but they are not hard at all. Pm me if you need help....

Quincy
VIK-TEK - stay in the streets (or ripped apart and tore down at the shop)
Home of the REAL street cars (single walbro Honda world record holder)

THE REAL S.B.K.

QUOTE (IT @ Feb 22 2011, 08:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ive seen old black people driving these. this is me relating.


QUOTE (El Jefe @ Feb 22 2011, 08:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Where did you think young black people got their bad taste from?
 

#8 Scholar

Scholar

    di ROMO BABY JESUS SANTA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 302,960 posts
  • Time Online: 19h 33m 7s

Posted 29 June 2008 - 05:56 PM

QUOTE (trunkflapper @ Jun 29 2008, 06:51 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Mr2 guys are just way too proud..... That would def not be the best option....



This is also bad information. I have done 2 in SC's and these swaps are not "direct swaps" but they are not hard at all. Pm me if you need help....

Quincy

Did I say it was hard? No, I said it wasn't a direct swap. You're agreeing with me but telling me it's bad info?

#9 trunkflapper

trunkflapper

    See my taillights?

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,238 posts
  • Vehicle:Corvette, Lexus, Truck, cbr600RR
  • Time Online: 5h 54m 27s

Posted 30 June 2008 - 05:25 AM

QUOTE (Chobro @ Jun 29 2008, 06:56 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Did I say it was hard? No, I said it wasn't a direct swap. You're agreeing with me but telling me it's bad info?



The only reason I said bad info is because your post sounded negative. I don't want this guy to feel down and like it's going to be super hard, cuz it's not that bad....

I agree, it is not direct, but you agree with me when I say not too hard.....

Quincy
VIK-TEK - stay in the streets (or ripped apart and tore down at the shop)
Home of the REAL street cars (single walbro Honda world record holder)

THE REAL S.B.K.

QUOTE (IT @ Feb 22 2011, 08:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ive seen old black people driving these. this is me relating.


QUOTE (El Jefe @ Feb 22 2011, 08:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Where did you think young black people got their bad taste from?
 

#10 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 30 June 2008 - 07:50 PM

okayy thanks for the information guys

#11 Oohdrewishere

Oohdrewishere

    Something clever goes here...

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 425 posts
  • Location:Garland
  • Vehicle:94 Lexus SC300
  • Time Online: 5h 22m 51s

Posted 01 July 2008 - 12:24 AM

welcome to DI, where information is never straight forward.

#12 trunkflapper

trunkflapper

    See my taillights?

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,238 posts
  • Vehicle:Corvette, Lexus, Truck, cbr600RR
  • Time Online: 5h 54m 27s

Posted 01 July 2008 - 09:47 AM

QUOTE (Oohdrewishere @ Jul 1 2008, 12:24 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
welcome to DI, where information is never straight forward.


Speak for your own information.... Mine is always straight forward, and there are several guys on here to vouch for that....
VIK-TEK - stay in the streets (or ripped apart and tore down at the shop)
Home of the REAL street cars (single walbro Honda world record holder)

THE REAL S.B.K.

QUOTE (IT @ Feb 22 2011, 08:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ive seen old black people driving these. this is me relating.


QUOTE (El Jefe @ Feb 22 2011, 08:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Where did you think young black people got their bad taste from?
 

#13 zenki972

zenki972

    Hey Yo!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,393 posts
  • Location:The Bush
  • Vehicle:A Toyota and a Acura.
  • Time Online: 5d 6h 57m 6s

Posted 01 July 2008 - 09:53 AM

QUOTE (trunkflapper @ Jul 1 2008, 09:47 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Speak for your own information.... Mine is always straight forward, and there are several guys on here to vouch for that....

I would never own a 2jz car pleaaaaaaaaase soooo played out yo!!! rolleyes1.gif

WELCOME TO DI !

#14 MKIIINA

MKIIINA

    di advanced

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Vehicle:1991 Toyota Supra Turbo Sunroof
  • Time Online: 3m 54s

Posted 01 July 2008 - 12:24 PM

to the OP check out my.is there are several gte swapped is300's running around. its not a hard swap but if you are unfamiliar with more advanced automotive swaps it can be a daunting task. you could always just do a na-t swap and keep the boost low and you'll be better off.

There are a couple companies that make bolt on turbo kits for the is that advertise on my.is

good luck!

#15 rcdsupra

rcdsupra

    di.net regular

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:NRH
  • Vehicle:Toyota Supra 1989
  • :

Posted 02 July 2008 - 06:28 PM

I am looking into getting a IS myself. It has a 2JZ already in it, so there are a couple of things you can do like Joe said. The most economical is to change the head gasket with a metal one with some arps bolts or studs, then get a bolt on turbo kit and some piggy back electronics and be set with 350-500rwhp. Or you can go with a 2JZGTE swap and swap everything, but that is going to take a lot more work..... Also change out that Auto for a stick, get a R154 and a 1JZ bell housing to hold the power.

Joe and I have MK3 Supras with a good amount of mods close to 450rwhp, but nothing like Zenki, that dood is the shiznik! JK!!

Welcome to DI, you should sign up on dfwmkiv.com, local supra/lexus site.

#16 Mr2civic817

Mr2civic817

    MIA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,999 posts
  • Vehicle:2004 Nissan Pathfinder
  • Time Online: 34m 38s

Posted 02 July 2008 - 07:17 PM

QUOTE (trunkflapper @ Jun 29 2008, 08:51 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Mr2 guys are just way too proud..... That would def not be the best option....


Quincy


Say what????? TO proud????
thanks for the disrespect

I was giving my input, that comment wasn't neccesay. Everyone has opinion, just like you do.

JDM Altezzas, are powered with the Beams red top, with a 6 speed.

There is a 2JZ in the US IS300, you could just slap on a turbo kit, for a more easy HP.

Direct answer, I see ok. welcome to DI where people like to talk Shiet like on HONDA TECH


Edited by Mr2civic817, 02 July 2008 - 07:25 PM.


#17 Mr2civic817

Mr2civic817

    MIA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,999 posts
  • Vehicle:2004 Nissan Pathfinder
  • Time Online: 34m 38s

Posted 02 July 2008 - 07:18 PM

QUOTE (zenki972 @ Jul 1 2008, 12:53 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I would never own a 2jz car pleaaaaaaaaase soooo played out yo!!! rolleyes1.gif

WELCOME TO DI !


Hell NO!!!!! I would put a 2JZ in my MR-2 if it would fit!!!!!!

#18 Mr2civic817

Mr2civic817

    MIA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,999 posts
  • Vehicle:2004 Nissan Pathfinder
  • Time Online: 34m 38s

Posted 02 July 2008 - 07:22 PM

QUOTE (rcdsupra @ Jul 2 2008, 09:28 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I am looking into getting a IS myself. It has a 2JZ already in it, so there are a couple of things you can do like Joe said. The most economical is to change the head gasket with a metal one with some arps bolts or studs, then get a bolt on turbo kit and some piggy back electronics and be set with 350-500rwhp. Or you can go with a 2JZGTE swap and swap everything, but that is going to take a lot more work..... Also change out that Auto for a stick, get a R154 and a 1JZ bell housing to hold the power.

Joe and I have MK3 Supras with a good amount of mods close to 450rwhp, but nothing like Zenki, that dood is the shiznik! JK!!

Welcome to DI, you should sign up on dfwmkiv.com, local supra/lexus site.


The R154 conversion tranny is alot of work, you gotta swap out the bell houseing, and machine axels. So much work But I know that tranny can hold more power then the R158 (i think thats the right number correct me if I'm Wrong). I been takeing an interest in 2JZ'a recently, I'm picking one up hopefully next wee, and a 158 JDM Sorar tranny with a new clutch.

#19 Mr2civic817

Mr2civic817

    MIA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,999 posts
  • Vehicle:2004 Nissan Pathfinder
  • Time Online: 34m 38s

Posted 02 July 2008 - 07:30 PM

QUOTE (MKIIINA @ Jul 1 2008, 03:24 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
to the OP check out my.is there are several gte swapped is300's running around. its not a hard swap but if you are unfamiliar with more advanced automotive swaps it can be a daunting task. you could always just do a na-t swap and keep the boost low and you'll be better off.

There are a couple companies that make bolt on turbo kits for the is that advertise on my.is

good luck!


I seen quite a few GS's rolling around with 2jz swaps lately. The motor isn't that expensive compared to other swaps, and you get a crap load of power, and alot of room to make more. The only problem in My opinoin is after makeing 500 HP to the wheels things start to break.

#20 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 03 July 2008 - 01:31 PM

so you guys are saying its just better to keep the motor that is in the IS and boost it?

#21 zenki972

zenki972

    Hey Yo!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,393 posts
  • Location:The Bush
  • Vehicle:A Toyota and a Acura.
  • Time Online: 5d 6h 57m 6s

Posted 03 July 2008 - 01:43 PM

QUOTE (trank @ Jul 3 2008, 01:31 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
so you guys are saying its just better to keep the motor that is in the IS and boost it?

Alot easier thats forsure and still make good power.Do more research and make ur own decsion dude.

#22 Mr2civic817

Mr2civic817

    MIA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,999 posts
  • Vehicle:2004 Nissan Pathfinder
  • Time Online: 34m 38s

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:35 PM

QUOTE (trank @ Jul 3 2008, 04:31 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
so you guys are saying its just better to keep the motor that is in the IS and boost it?


it depends on your power goal, its alot easier to put on a turbo the motor in it, rather then a swap.

do more research, and good luck bro

#23 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 03 July 2008 - 04:29 PM

thanks for all the help and advice

#24 zenki972

zenki972

    Hey Yo!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,393 posts
  • Location:The Bush
  • Vehicle:A Toyota and a Acura.
  • Time Online: 5d 6h 57m 6s

Posted 03 July 2008 - 04:30 PM

QUOTE (trank @ Jul 3 2008, 05:29 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
thanks for all the help and advice

No problem

#25 anyotherone

anyotherone

    The one and only.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Vehicle:IS300 SportCross, 330i ZHP
  • :

Posted 03 July 2008 - 10:30 PM

I/we (matchless performance) did an aristo swap (2jz-gte, little less agressive cams than the U.S. supra motor) on an IS300 back in the day. It bolts straight in and we used the original 5spd automatic tranny. If it had been a straight forward stock swap, we could have done it for around $10-12k using the stock IS300 ecu and AEM F/IC or Greddy Emangle Ultimate (both have their strong and weak points).

You will need to build the stock auto, get a custom downpipe built, relocate the ABS block and a few other things to make it work, so it isn't for amateurs, that's for sure.

It ended up making 500whp on pump gas, daily driven on the stock bottom end, with a GT4088r turbo and standalone ECU.

#26 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 05 July 2008 - 05:14 PM

how much did all that cost to make it have 500whp on pump gas and a daily?

#27 mr.danny

mr.danny

    di obsessed

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,268 posts
  • Location:Ft Worth
  • Vehicle:a slow 4 dr
  • Time Online: 10h 52m

Posted 05 July 2008 - 06:49 PM

talk to 1qwklex he has a built 800+whp is300 with a 2jzge
I GOT A AIR MULTIPLIER x10000

#28 anyotherone

anyotherone

    The one and only.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Vehicle:IS300 SportCross, 330i ZHP
  • :

Posted 07 July 2008 - 10:48 AM

QUOTE (trank @ Jul 5 2008, 05:14 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
how much did all that cost to make it have 500whp on pump gas and a daily?


There are several different ways to go about getting that much power, in the case of that specific customer he wanted a unique, show-ready car. Lots of polish work, chroming, powdercoating, and all the very best parts such as a full race prototype 2jz-ge manifold, and a supra style intake manifold. To do both of those required relocating the ecu, abs block, and battery, so it was very labor intensive. Also, I forgot to mention we definately had to build the auto to hold that much power. After shipping a tranny that was gaurenteed to hold 700whp was around $3000. It was all in total north close to $30,000.

That may sound insanely high to some, but if you talk to 1qwklex or anyone on here or my.is with a fast IS, you'll find that is simply not cheap to build right with quality parts.

The same power level could be replicated with a simpler setup. I've been contemplating this on my IS for some time now.

Boost Logic turbo kit (very nice, complete except for engine management) or piece together a kit - $5000
Built GE block, carrillo rods, wiseco pistons, oem bearings, labor - $3000
Misc OEM items (oil pump, gaskets, etc) - $500
Custom 4" exhaust - $800-1500
Clutch/Flywheel/R154 transmission or built auto (stock manual tranny won't hold high torque) - $3000-4000
Gauges/wideband etc - $500
Engine management / Tuning - $650-3000

That would get you 500whp+ for $17,500 on the high side (or roughly $20,000 if you have a shop do it all)


#29 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 07 July 2008 - 01:33 PM

this is out of my price range but it would be nice to own one on these



#30 zenki972

zenki972

    Hey Yo!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,393 posts
  • Location:The Bush
  • Vehicle:A Toyota and a Acura.
  • Time Online: 5d 6h 57m 6s

Posted 07 July 2008 - 02:22 PM

QUOTE (trank @ Jul 7 2008, 02:33 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
this is out of my price range but it would be nice to own one on these

But thats done RIGHT not ghetto rig this ghetto rig that...you got to pay to play son! smile.gif

#31 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 07 July 2008 - 02:50 PM

ahaha yeaa

but i might just try to find a sc300 around here that i can pick up and do a 2jzgte swap


#32 zenki972

zenki972

    Hey Yo!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,393 posts
  • Location:The Bush
  • Vehicle:A Toyota and a Acura.
  • Time Online: 5d 6h 57m 6s

Posted 07 July 2008 - 04:13 PM

QUOTE (trank @ Jul 7 2008, 03:50 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ahaha yeaa

but i might just try to find a sc300 around here that i can pick up and do a 2jzgte swap

That website also has a classifieds section in it you might want to check it out GL.

#33 trank

trank

    n00die

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • :

Posted 07 July 2008 - 04:16 PM

okay thanks fo the advice

#34 Hybrid333

Hybrid333

    di.net regular

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Location:Plano Texas
  • Vehicle:1990 300ZX TT/99 Trans-Am/ 03 GS300 sport edition.
  • :

Posted 08 July 2008 - 07:59 PM

Do some research on the internet. It's been so long but a few years back I remember a guy from Lexus or Supraforums was selling a manual for the swap. It has detailed information even pictures and every parts that you need to do the swap yourself. Last time I check he was selling it for $90 but I might be wrong. Do the search, do it yourself and save some $$$$$$$. wink.gif

~ netb00m

#35 Vissi

Vissi

    di advanced

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Vehicle:a kia
  • Time Online: 8d 14h 28m 31s

Posted 20 July 2008 - 07:26 PM

Is the stock 5 speed tranny from the Is300 any good?

#36 trunkflapper

trunkflapper

    See my taillights?

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,238 posts
  • Vehicle:Corvette, Lexus, Truck, cbr600RR
  • Time Online: 5h 54m 27s

Posted 21 July 2008 - 02:48 AM

No, 500rwhp and kiss it goodnight.....
VIK-TEK - stay in the streets (or ripped apart and tore down at the shop)
Home of the REAL street cars (single walbro Honda world record holder)

THE REAL S.B.K.

QUOTE (IT @ Feb 22 2011, 08:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ive seen old black people driving these. this is me relating.


QUOTE (El Jefe @ Feb 22 2011, 08:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Where did you think young black people got their bad taste from?
 

#37 anyotherone

anyotherone

    The one and only.

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Vehicle:IS300 SportCross, 330i ZHP
  • :

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:30 AM

QUOTE (trunkflapper @ Jul 21 2008, 03:48 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No, 500rwhp and kiss it goodnight.....


The stock 5spd manual or automatic tranny? The Manual W55 transmission has been known to break with as little as 300whp. Most argue that it should be upgraded at anything over 350whp, especially if it is going to see much abuse.

#38 Vissi

Vissi

    di advanced

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Vehicle:a kia
  • Time Online: 8d 14h 28m 31s

Posted 21 July 2008 - 12:03 PM

so if i was looking for a is300 dd , should i get the manuel tranny, or just buy the auto and swap it?

im not gonna be passing over 250hp

#39 Mr2civic817

Mr2civic817

    MIA

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,999 posts
  • Vehicle:2004 Nissan Pathfinder
  • Time Online: 34m 38s

Posted 21 July 2008 - 07:25 PM

QUOTE (Vissi @ Jul 21 2008, 03:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
so if i was looking for a is300 dd , should i get the manuel tranny, or just buy the auto and swap it?

im not gonna be passing over 250hp


Get a manual if you can find one, so you don't have to worry about a swap in the future, but like I said If you can find one.

Good luck in your search David

#40 zenki972

zenki972

    Hey Yo!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,393 posts
  • Location:The Bush
  • Vehicle:A Toyota and a Acura.
  • Time Online: 5d 6h 57m 6s

Posted 22 July 2008 - 08:31 AM

QUOTE (trank @ Jun 29 2008, 11:16 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
How much would it cost to put a 2jzgte engine into an is300?

thankss

and sorry i am a noob here

Dude are u doing a sc300 or a is300 which one is it???




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users