#1 Becky My Darling

Becky My Darling

Your Resident Alabamian

• Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,327 posts
  • Vehicle:2011 Audi A4

Posted 27 February 2014 - 08:24 AM

So I have been running pretty consistently since Sept 2013 now.

I decided to take my friend up on his offer of a long run this past Saturday of 11miles (no distance I haven't done recently). The only difference was we decided to run the trails on our local mountain. I haven't ran trails in years, and when I did (years ago) I generally stayed off of the technical trails.

Well, my friend decides to take some of the more technical trails on the mountain. It was pretty muddy so the entire run was pretty much through mud and at certain points we had to stop to climb over rocks and/or streams. With that being said, my legs were trashed about halfway through the run. We did some very steep climbs and long rolling hill trails that just killed me since I am not accustomed to running hills like that. Oh, and I fell once and literally almost slide off the side of the mountain. That was fun.

Anyway, I had to stop and walk a portion of the last mile. I just couldn't get my legs to move any more. I was starting to trip over rocks while running because of how tired my legs were. I was able to jog the last 1/2mile back to the car, though. Once there, I realized how fucked up I felt. My hands were shaking slightly, every part of my body felt weak (think flu feeling), and I was STARVING. I quickly downed a bottle of water, finished stretching, then met a friend for lunch.

Has anyone else ever exhausted themselves to this point before? I have pushed myself above and beyond my limits many times over the past 10 years of running, but this is the first time I had ever felt this exhausted after a run. It's crazy because last month I did 11miles at 7min per mile pace with a friend and felt perfectly fine after, but with all of the hills, mud, etc on the mountain it completely wore me out.